Effect of Phase Noise in Doppler Radar Systems

As with many radar systems, Doppler radar systems include a transmitter that sends out a signal over an area that it is under surveillance. Moving objects in this area will reflect a signal, whose fundamental frequency has shifted as a function of the object’s velocity, back to the radar receiver. Slow moving objects, which produce small Doppler shifts in the reflected signal’s frequency, can only be detected if the radar system’s phase noise at the reflected frequency is less than the power of the reflected signal. Similarly, fast moving objects will reflect a signal with a larger Doppler shift that can only be detected if the radar system’s phase noise at the reflected frequency is less than the power of the reflected signal.

The phase noise of low phase noise oscillators is higher at frequency offsets closer to the carrier. Therefore, it can be more difficult to detect slow moving objects, like jeeps, than it is to detect fast moving objects, like aircraft.  In order to build a radar system that can track both slow and fast moving objects, the phase noise of a radar system over a wide span of offset frequencies is essential.

For example, let’s examine a Doppler radar, with a transmission frequency, f, that is used to detect a fast supersonic aircraft as well as a relatively slowly moving vehicle, such as a jeep. The signal reflected by the aircraft will be at a frequency that is shifted approximately 10 kHz from the originally transmitted signal and will be at a much lower power. Figure 1 below shows the signal being transmitted by the Doppler radar system while Figure 2 shows the signal reflected back toward the radar. Figures 3 and 4 show the frequency content of the transmitted and reflected signal, respectively.

Figure 1_3 Figure 2_3
Figure 3_3 Figure 4_3

In order to positively identify the aircraft, the phase noise at 10 kHz from the transmitted signal, f + 10 kHz, must be less than the power of the reflected signal at f + 10 kHz. Figure 5 shows the overlay of the transmitted signal and the reflected signal. Since the noise of the reference oscillator at f + 10 kHz is significantly less than the noise of the reflected signal, there is a high probability of the radar detecting the aircraft.

Figure 5_3

As a second example, let’s look at the ability of a radar system to detect a slow moving jeep, which would reflect a signal that is approximately 70 Hz offset from the transmitted signal. Figures 6 and 7 show the signal transmitted by the radar followed by the reflected signal. Assume the same signal is transmitted as shown in Figure 3 above. Figure 8 shows the frequency content of the signal reflected back by the jeep at f + 70 Hz, 70 Hz from the originally transmitted frequency. By examining the overlay of the transmitted frequency on the reflected frequency in Figure 9, we see that, when received, the jeep’s reflected signal has about the same amount of power as the signal transmitted by the radar. Therefore, the probability of detection by the radar system is minimal. Improving the probability of detection of these jeeps would require the phase noise of the radar transmission system at f + 70 Hz to be reduced.

Figure 5_3

As a second example, let’s look at the ability of a radar system to detect a slow moving jeep, which would reflect a signal that is approximately 70 Hz offset from the transmitted signal. Figures 6 and 7 show the signal transmitted by the radar followed by the reflected signal. Assume the same signal is transmitted as shown in Figure 3 above. Figure 8 shows the frequency content of the signal reflected back by the jeep at f + 70 Hz, 70 Hz from the originally transmitted frequency. By examining the overlay of the transmitted frequency on the reflected frequency in Figure 9, we see that, when received, the jeep’s reflected signal has about the same amount of power as the signal transmitted by the radar. Therefore, the probability of detection by the radar system is minimal. Improving the probability of detection of these jeeps would require the phase noise of the radar transmission system at f + 70 Hz to be reduced.

Figure 6_3 Figure 7_3
Figure 8_3 Figure 9_3

In Radar systems the phase noise from the LO normally dominates over other sources. The phase noise for a typical LO has two
components:

• Device noise or white noise – uncorrelated sample-to-sample;

• Flicker noise which caused a random walk – strongly correlated between adjacent samples.

This is where it can be useful to utilize the Allan Deviation measurement to characterize the phase noise of the LO and determine the effect of averaging. A graph of Allan deviation is shown below. It shows the stability of the device improving as the averaging period (Tau symbol ) gets longer, since some noise types can be removed by averaging. At some point, however, more averaging no longer improves the results. This point is called the noise floor, or the point where the remaining noise consists of non-stationary processes such as aging or random walk. The device in the graph has a noise floor of about 5 x 10-11 at Tau symbol = 100 s.

adevgraph

The Allan deviation is also used to identify types of oscillator and measurement system noise. The slope of the Allan deviation line can identify the amount of averaging needed to remove these noise types, as shown in the graph below. Note that the Allan deviation does not distinguish between white phase noise and flicker phase noise.

adevnoise

25 Responses to Effect of Phase Noise in Doppler Radar Systems

  1. Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same
    ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  2. Wonderful work! This is the type of information that are supposed to be shared across the web.

    Shame on Google for now not positioning this submit upper!
    Come on over and consult with my site . Thank you =)

  3. Nice blog right here! Also your web site so much up fast!
    What host are you the use of? Can I get your associate
    link to your host? I desire my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  4. Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does running a well-established blog such as
    yours take a lot of work? I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start
    a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings
    online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for
    brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  5. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a
    number of websites for about a year and am anxious about
    switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  6. Today, I wnt to the ƅеachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gavee it to my 4 yyear oldd daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to
    ɦer earr and screameԀ. Therе was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She ոever wants tߋ go back! Loʟ I knօw this is totally
    off topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. I hope you don’t mind that I’m bookmarking this site. in again.

  8. I hope you don’t mind that I’m bookmarking this blog site.
    Can’t wait to call back!

  9. You on Facebook or YouTube? Would love to keep up-to-date your current videos
    or articles.

  10. Just how do you start-up a blog?? I really desire to start one
    up related cars and trucks, however , tend not to know how to get
    cracking. Pretty much any help is tremendously appreciated 😉

  11. You’re so right. I find out about this constantly. Incredible
    post.

  12. I am considering starting my very own web site. Would you
    supply a few tips?

  13. You’re a fantastic writer. I have join the mailing list for your blog because I’d rather not miss your next posts

  14. May I subscribe to your articles?

  15. Your blog post is incredible. Could I connect with you on Facebook??

  16. Your web site is amazing. Can I follow you on Google+.

  17. I am thinking about implementing my personal web site. Could you provide me with a couple tips?

  18. sell my car says:

    Fantastic write-up man. Can not wait for your upcoming post.

  19. auto buyers says:

    Fascinating post. Will you link me to more of your articles?

  20. Can I register for your posts? I don’t know how to do it and don’t want to miss your next ones.

  21. You are an excellent writer. I have join the mailing list for
    your web site cos I really don’t want to miss out on the next blog posts

  22. Hi folks are you on google plus?? Could be terrific for me to read through your future pieces you write

  23. Terrific blog. Makes me to commence crafting articles again

  24. Hello there, are you with Google+?? Could well be great to go through your
    future articles

  25. Really dont want too miss any futuure blogposts..

Leave a Reply

